The Superstition Mountain Series by Elise Broach

The Superstition Mountain Series by Elise Broach
January 31, 2016 Alexandra Adlawan
8 and Up
The series follows the three Barker brothers – Simon, Henry, and Jack – who’ve just moved from Illinois to Arizona. They are now living in a town with the Superstition Mountain right next to their new home. Their parents have warned them not to explore the mountain but when their cat Josie goes missing, they see no choice. When they discover three human skulls up in the mountain, they are determined to uncover the mystery. Together with their new neighbor Delilah, the Barker boys take on mysteries, gold treasure, avalanches and a creepy librarian.
These books are fiction but they’re based on facts. It’s true that people have disappeared on the Superstition Mountain and were never heard from again. Bodies and skeletons have been found, the Legend of the Lost Dutchman’s Gold Mine, all based on truth. A book is always more interesting with a little bit of actual history thrown in.
The greatest thing about these books is that the Superstition Mountain in Arizona is real. I didn’t know it was a real place until I read the Author’s Note at the end on Book 1.
I only found out that this was a series when I found Book 2 and 3 at the library. I was so happy. I should have known it was a series. The first book kind of ended in a cliffhanger.
If you can find all three books and read them all at once, I recommend it.

1 Comment

  1. Danielle Sees 5 years ago

    Sounds like a book that would keep you on the edge of your seat.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *